If You Liked This Sapphic Book, Try This One!

Hi everyone! I hope you’re keeping well! I’ve been in a wee bit of a reading slump which is why I disappeared for a while, but I decided to finally do this post that I’ve been putting off for the longest time (for no actual reason!). If you want to see my first If You Liked This Sapphic Book, Try This One post, click here (I promise they’re all good recs!). Without any further ado, here are my recommendations!


These two books were the two that actually prompted me to write this specific post! The Bone Shard Daughter follows five different POVs – Lin, the emperor’s daughter, Jovis, a smuggler, Ranami, a revolutionary, Phalue, a governer’s daughter, and Sand, who is on a deserted island and has no idea who she is or how she got there. If you love big, sprawling high fantasy worlds with multiple POVs, then both of these books are for you, and if you loved the dragons in Priory, then you’ll love adorable little Mephi in The Bone Shard Daughter! The Bone Shard Daughter has an established sapphic romance between Ranami and Phalue that feels so raw and realistic, and you’ll really end up falling in love with all these characters! Both of these books were five-star reads for me and I cannot recommend picking them up enough if you love high fantasy!

Now, I’m not the biggest reader of erotica, namely because I don’t really know where to look for it (please give me recs!), but I was so impressed by these two that I’m really looking forward to getting more into the genre! A Lesson in Thorns follows Poe, a librarian, who takes a job at Thornchapel to try and find out what happened to her mother before she died. However, Poe spent one Summer at Thornchapel with the now owner, Auden, and his friends, and Poe is determined to stay well away from him, that is until Thornchapel’s secrets begin to start revealing themselves. My Lord is set in 1239 and follows Meya, who is sold as a slave to Lord Deminas who has a reputation for being extremely cruel – and those rumours turn out to be true. However, Lord Deminas begins being rather protective of Meya, even healing her wounds when she gets hurt and, rather strangely, drinking her blood. Meya is determined to find out what’s really going on with Lord Deminas, especially after servants start going missing, but she must make sure that she doesn’t meet the same fate as them. Both of these are so dark and atmospheric and are perfect for Autumn and Winter! All of the main characters in these books are pansexual or bisexual and the smut doesn’t take centre stage in either of the stories, so I think that both of these would be great for someone just starting to get into erotica, like I am!

If you love enemies to lovers romances, these two books are definitely for you! Tell Me How You Really Feel follows Sana, a cheerleader and straight-A student, and Rachel, a wannabe director. Rachel absolutely hates Sana – Rachel was the first girl Sana ever asked out, but Rachel thought that it was a cruel joke – so when the two are forced to work together on Rachel’s upcoming film project, things don’t exactly go smoothly. I Kissed Alice follows Rhodes and Iliana, who both attend a prestigious art school, however, Rhodes has always been their school’s shining star but is currently facing creator’s block, whereas transfer Iliana, is determined to prove that she belongs there with her strong work ethic. They both absolutely hate each other, but, unbeknownst to them both, they are actually co-authors of an online Alice in Wonderland themed webcomic, where they’re both falling in love! I’m not a huge fan of the enemies to lovers trope, especially in contemporary, but I know that if it is your thing, you’ll really enjoy both of these books!

Both Cameron Post and Orpheus Girl both deal with conservative Christian upbringings and conversion camps, so please do take a moment to look up the trigger warnings for both of these books before diving in! Orpheus Girl follows Raya who lives with her Christian grandmother in a small, conservative Texas town, and who is completely in love with her best friend Sarah. When the two are outed, they are both sent to a conversion camp, but Raya, who is obsessed with Greek mythology, decides to take on the role of Orpheus to get them both out of there. Although both of these books deal with heavier topics, there are some beautiful scenes in both of them, particularly related to queer found family. Orpheus Girl is also a really amazing retelling of the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice that I think is one of the best written myth retellings I’ve ever read! Both of these are extremely important books, so if they are right for you, I highly recommend picking them up!

These next two books are perfect if you love fantasy and time travel and are looking for some reccommendations in which sapphics play a main role! The Last Magician follows Esta, a thief, who has to travel back in time to 1902 to steal an ancient magical book that might help those who have magical abilities free themselves from being trapped in Manhattan by The Brink – a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Although the sapphic character in this series only really becomes a main character in the second book (and she gets a girlfriend!), she plays an important role in the first book and I can’t wait to see where the other books take her! Mary, Everything, however, puts lesbians at the forefront, which we love to see! The book follows Courtney who is spending her Summer working in her university’s archives where she becomes obsessed with a yearbook from the 1920s in which there are so many strangely familiar faces. Courtney ends up having a chance encounter with a girl dressed in extremely old-fashioned clothes – Sadie – which turns her world upside down. Sadie, after returning to 1921 with Courtney in tow, is racing against the clock to save her best friend alongside a rather unusual group of allies, but a psychopathic stalker is slowly closing in on them…. I’m so excited to pick this one up as I’ve heard great things and the author is so, so lovely! Plus (and I know I always say this but I am so excited about it!) there are sapphic flappers!!!

If, like me, you loved the These Witches Don’t Burn duology, then I think you’ll really enjoy B*Witch! These Witches Don’t Burn follows Hannah, an elemental witch living in Salem, who stumbles upon a blood ritual at the end of school year bonfire. Hannah teams up with her ex, Veronica, to figure out what’s going on, and to catch the blood witch responsible in the act. B*Witch follows Iris who, after moving to a new school, gets welcomed into a coven – it’s the first time Iris has met other witches IRL – but their coven has rivals in the town who practice dark magic. When one of their own gets killed, the rival covens must team up to hunt down whoever is trying to put an end to them. Both of these books involve teaming up with rivals within covens to fight a common evil! Both of these books have queer rep (TWDB has lesbian, bi and trans rep, and B*Witched has lesbian and trans rep) and one of the main characters in B*Witch is Black. I love more contemporary/urban fantasy books so I’m really looking forward to reading B*Witch in the future!

Finally, for those of you who love sci-fi, or want to get more into the genre, I have two of my favourite sci-fi reads of the year! Once & Future follows Ari, a reincarnation of King Arthur, who crash lands in the ruins Earth only to find Excalibur. Soon after, she meets Merlin, who is aging backwards, and the two must figure out how to break the curse that keeps reincarnating Arthur, whilst also defeating their oppressive government. Once & Future has one of my favourite found families ever and almost every character in this duology is queer and/or a person of colour! The Vela is the first in an adult sci-fi series that follows soldier-for-hire Asala who is forced to team up with the emperor’s child, Niko, to find The Vela, a ship full of refugees that was on a rescue mission and has mysteriously vanished. Again, there is so much diversity in this book – Asala is a deaf trans lesbian and Niko is nonbinary, and there are plenty other queer and disabled characters and characters of colour throughout. This book also deals with an interplanetary refugee crisis that mirrors our own and features so many important discussions!

2 thoughts on “If You Liked This Sapphic Book, Try This One!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s