If You Like This Sapphic Book, Try This One!

Hi everyone! Long time, no see! Life got a bit in the way recently and, although I’ve been reading quite a bit and reviewing on Goodreads, the blog got put on a bit of a backburner. But I’m back now! I’ve given the blog a wee bit of a revamp, although there may still be some changes until I get it looking exactly how I want. But, anyway, back to the post at hand! I’ve seen lots of Booktube videos and blog posts around that offer recommendations based on another book you may have loved, and so I wanted to give it a shot but with sapphic books! I’ve decided to mention five more well known sapphic books and hopefully introduce you to your next favourite less well-known sapphic read!


If you liked Queen of Coin and Whispers by Helen Corcoran, I think you’re going to love Glorious Day by Skye Kilaen. Glorious Day is a super short novella that really packs a punch in such a small number of pages. In the novella we follow Elsenna who starts off as a high ranking member in the palace security team, but is then re-instated as the princess’ personal bodyguard, two years after an incident which tore them apart – they kissed in the palace gardens. Now there are uprisings in the streets and Elsenna has been leaking information to the rebel forces who want to overthrow the king, while the princess knows nothing of what she is doing. I absolutely loved this, and so many other Goodreads reviewers also seemed to, as well! If you loved all the political intrigue and ruthless heroines of Queen of Coin and Whispers, I think you’ll really enjoy what this fast-paced novella has to offer, as well as a really great will-they-won’t-they relationship between a princess and her bodyguard! (See trigger warnings here!)

If you loved The Falling in Love Montage by Ciara Smyth, I think you’re really going to enjoy Hopeless Romantic by Georgia Beers! In Hopeless Romantic, we follow Teddi, a wedding planner who has given up on true love after her divorce, and Kelly, who comes to Teddi’s store as the sister of a new bride to be. The two form a connection until Teddi realises that Kelly is, in fact, her ex-wife’s divorce lawyer. Kelly loves cheesy romantic movies, just like Ruby in The Falling in Love Montage (and if you liked the ending of that book, I really think you’ll like this one!). As expected, there’s also plenty of wedding planning in Hopeless Romantic, which we also see Saoirse go through, but we get to explore it in much more depth, which for a Don’t Tell the Bride lover like me, was so fun! This book really felt like a more adult version of The Falling in Love Montage, so if that sounds like your kinda thing, give it a go!

Going into slightly more ‘classic’ sapphic literature for a moment, if you enjoyed (or didn’t, as is the case with me!) Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown, then I highly recommend the recently translated into English All Men Want to Know by Nina Bouraoui! All Men Want to Know is an autobiographical novel following the author as she grows up in Algeria as a young half-Algerian, half-French girl, has to flee to Paris at the onset of civil war, and comes of age in the 1980s, flitting amongst the lesbian bars and trying her hardest to become an author. All Men Want to Know, in my opinion, does what Rubyfruit Jungle set out, but didn’t quite manage, to do. The book discusses lesbian loneliness and isolation with the backdrop of the slowly declining lesbian bar scene. The writing is absolutely beautiful, and I highly recommend it if you want a more adult coming of age novel with a great queer community aspect! (See trigger warnings in my Goodreads review!)

Back to the YA with this one! If you liked Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli, I recommend Melt My Heart by Bethany Rutter! Melt My Heart follows Lily Rose who has always been in the shadow of her prettier, thinner twin sister Daisy. One Summer, Lily meets Cal who’s here from New Zealand and the two immediately feel a spark. However, he’s also Daisy’s crush! Meanwhile, Lily is also working at her best friend Cassie’s family’s ice cream stand, but with university on the horizon, they’re going to be separated at the end of the Summer. In order to make the most of the Summer, Lily decides to do one new thing every single day but she ends up getting distracted by Cassie and Cal’s best friend, Jack’s, new relationship. Melt My Heart is an adorable Summer read, set in a small seaside town and it has excellent fat rep! If you liked Leah’s artiness (is that a word?) but weren’t too enamoured by her – ahem – rudeness, Lily creates art to help out her town and is a super sweet gal in general while Cassie is really into sewing her own outfits! This also has one of the cutest friends-to-lovers romances and a great family dynamic that builds up to a really hopeful ending!

Finally, we’re going down the historical fiction route! If you liked The Miseducation of Cameron Post, I think you’ll love reading Music From Another World by Robin Talley! In the Summer of 1977, Tammy, a closeted lesbian living in a religious family in Orange County secretly writes letters to Harvey Milk in her diary. In San Francisco, Sharon is discovering the world of punk music, while trying to keep her brother’s secret – that he’s gay. The two become pen-pals through their schools and strike up a friendship, sharing secrets they’ve never told anyone before. If you loved the retro vibes in Cameron Post, like the mixtape-making and writing each other letters, I think you’ll love the similar vibes in Robin Talley’s novel. Both books deal with homophobic religious backgrounds and found family and are definitely both tear-jerkers! On a happier level, they both discuss first loves and feature some really tender, beautiful moments!

I hope you enjoyed this post – I certainly enjoyed writing it and would love to do another one in the future! I highly encourage you to pick up all these books (they all work vice versa too!) and support sapphic authors and books! Have a great day wherever you are! I’ll hopefully be back later this week with a Netgalley Mini Wrap Up!

5 thoughts on “If You Like This Sapphic Book, Try This One!

  1. Glorious Day is such a must read!! It’s short, it’s awesome, it has disability reps, and Skye has a comprehensive list of trigger and content warnings! I don’t know what more we could ask for!
    This post is such an wonderful idea, Althea!! 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes!! I absolutely loved it! I wish it had been a full length novel because I just adored the characters and the world building so much! Thanks so much Hsinju!!💖

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s